List of Indian Captains in ODI World Cup | S Venkat to Kohli

The contribution of all the Indian captains in ODI World Cup is immense. The significance of the ODI World Cup wins can’t be stretched further. And it is even more so, for Indian cricket where a World Cup trophy became bigger than life, especially after the 1983 World Cup win.

Since then, it has been a dream for every other player to lead India in the ODI World Cups. Ahead of 2023 edition, let’s revisit all the key captains. Even if you bet on cricket world cup, you need to know what’s the role of a captain.

List of Indian Captains in ODI World Cup

Winning an ODI World Cup reaffirms your position in ODIs. But no team can win the trophy without a good captain.

  • India had won the 1983 edition of the World Cup riding on superb leadership skills from Kapil Dev.
  • In 2003, India reached the finals of the ODI World Cup under the inspirational leadership of Sourav Ganguly.
  • In 2011, it was MS Dhoni’s sublime captaincy that helped India lift the Cup eventually.

Not to mention, the six that Dhoni hit off Nuwan Kulasekara which sealed the deal and sent the whole nation into a frenzy.

Let’s have a look at the Indian captains at the ODI World Cup in this table.

Edition Captains
1975 S Venkataraghavan
1979 S Venkataraghavan
1983 Kapil Dev
1987 Kapil Dev
1992 Mohd Azharuddin
1996 Mohd Azharuddin
1999 Mohd Azharuddin
2003 Sourav Ganguly
2007 Rahul Dravid
2011 MS Dhoni
2015 MS Dhoni
2019 Virat Kohli

So, a number of iconic players became India captains. This included players like Kapil Dev, Sourav Ganguly, MS Dhoni, Rahul Dravid, and Virat Kohli.

Top 5 Indian Captains in ODI World Cups

We will use this opportunity and take a look at the five iconic Indian captains.

Kapil Dev:

Kapil Dev was perhaps the first iconic India captain in the ODI World Cup.

He was given the leadership role in 1983 where he led India to their maiden World Cup.

Four years later, he was again leading the side but couldn’t take his team to the trophy as they were beaten by England in Mumbai which also marked the end of his leadership.

Sourav Ganguly:

Ganguly took over the captaincy role when the team was going through its worst period.

The match-fixing scandal had broken and the team needed someone who could reinstate the credibility of the Indian team.

Here Dada stepped in brilliantly and led India to the final of the 2003 World Cup.

India had lost a few initial matches but bounced back brilliantly to reach the final where they lost to Australia.

Mohd Azharuddin:

Meanwhile, Azharuddin became India’s captain in the 1992 World Cup and would go on to lead the team for three consecutive World Cups till 1999.

However, under his leadership, India managed to reach the last four just once while getting knocked out in 1992 and 1999 without making much of an impact.

MS Dhoni:

The fourth iconic captain in our list is MS Dhoni who would lead India to their second World Cup trophy in 2011.

Dhoni build a team of youngsters and started formulating strategies alongside coach Gary Kirsten from March 2009 onwards.

All his hard work paid off and he eventually would hit that six that would seal the deal for India.

Virat Kohli:

Kohli is the last captain on this list. Kohli, who was part of the side in 2011, would go on to lead India to the semi-finals of the ODI World Cup 2019.

Under his leadership, India played some aggressive cricket in Test matches. His aggressive personality only added to the team strategy which now relied heavily on fast bowlers.

This aggression worked wonders for India abroad like South Africa, England, and Australia.

Final Thoughts on the List of Indian Captains in ODI World Cup

Some of the great cricketers went on to captain India at the ODI World Cup.

This included names like Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Mohd Azharuddin, Kapil Dev, and Sourav Ganguly.

And not only were they great captains but also great cricketers who served Indian cricket for years.

All these players performed their captaincy role to perfection, framing the team strategy and picking the player combination which in turn decided how India will fare at ODI World Cups.

This year, Rohit Sharma will lead from the front. Let’s see how he writes his legacy.